Awards and Recognition

Aon Best Employer in Canada Study

Aon Best Small & Medium Employers in Canada (BSME)

  • 2017 to 2018

Top 50 Best Small & Medium Employers in Canada (BSME)

  • 2010 to 2015

The Aon Best Employers in Canada Study is the country’s premier benchmark for assessing the quality and performance of workplace excellence using global standards based on more than 20 years of learnings and best practices from Aon studies conducted all over the world, relying on data collected in more than 150 markets from over 9,000 organizations in 68 industries, including over 734,000 employees and more than 500 companies of all sizes in Canada. Recognized organizations have achieved outstanding results among their Canadian counterparts for engaging employees, demonstrating effective leadership, building a performance culture and leveraging the strength of their employer brand.

B Lab

Best for the World Overall List

  • 2017 to 2018
B Lab is a non-profit organization that serves a global movement of people using business as a force for good. Its vision is that one day all companies will compete not only to be the best in the world, but the best for the world and society will enjoy prosperity for all for the long term.

Central 1 Credit Union and Alterna Savings

Gary Gillam Award for Social Responsibility

  • Brent Zorgdrager, 2018
  • Nick Driedger, 2004
The Gary Gillam Award for social responsibility, jointly sponsored by Alterna Savings and Central 1, recognizes and honours individuals within Ontario and British Columbia credit union members who demonstrate exemplary achievements in: promoting social responsibility and/or sustainability in credit unions; and/or promoting credit unions as a socially responsible investment alternative.

Central 1 Credit Union

Distinguished Service Award

  • Nick Driedger, 2010
Central 1 Credit Union presents their Distinguished Service Award to individuals who have given lifelong service and shown contributions to further the credit union movement.

Conrad Grebel University College

Distinguished Alumni Service Award

  • Nick Driedger, 2010
Conrad Grebel University College’s annual Distinguished Alumni Service Award is presented to honour outstanding alumni who have, in some notable way, demonstrated the unique emphases of Conrad Grebel University College.

Credit Union Central of Canada

National Credit Union Social Responsibility Award

  • MSCU SRI GICs, 2016

Credit Union Central of Canada’s National Credit Union Social Responsibility Award recognizes the leadership, innovation and advancement that credit unions are demonstrating in their social and environmental performance. This Award recognizes and celebrates the ways credit unions are leading in defining strategic approaches to social responsibility that will encourage and inspire the system as a whole.

National Credit Union Young Leaders Award and Scholarship

  • Pamela Hillis, 2015
  • Benjamin Janzen, 2013
  • Shawn Good, 2009

Credit Union Central of Canada's National Credit Union Young Leaders Award recognizes young leaders, 35 years of age and under, in Canada’s credit union system. The Award helps identify the best and brightest young employees, motivate them, and publicize their accomplishments to inspire others.

National Credit Union Innovation Award

  • Defining, piloting and implementing a software solution for streamlining commercial credit monitoring and portfolio management (Covarity), 2003

Credit Union Central of Canada’s National Credit Union Innovation Award supports and honours the commitment, focus, drive and dedication of credit unions across Canada with an emphasis on the development of ideas and innovation in member services, technology, process and cost savings. The Award focuses national attention on credit unions who lead the way in developing and implementing innovative initiatives that strengthen the credit union and that may have application for the overall system.

Marketing Association for Credit Unions

Achievement in Marketing Excellence (AIME) Award

  • Outstanding Creative, Brand and Brand Building, 2017
  • Outstanding Creative, Shoestring Category, 2016, 2015
  • Special Events Category, 2012
  • Annual Report and Newsletter Category, 2011

Achievement in Marketing (AIM) Award

  • Annual Report Category, 2013, 2012, 2009
  • Outstanding Creative Category, 2012

The Marketing Association for Credit Unions’ (MACU) Achievement in Marketing Excellence (AIME) Awards, showcase the most impressive, effective and creative marketing and communications seen in the credit union industry and have become the symbol of marketing excellence within the Canadian credit union system.

Mennonite Economic Development Associates (MEDA)

20 Under 35 Young Professionals Changing the World Awards


  • Andrew Yantzi, 2015
  • Tiffany Myer, 2014

Mennonite Economic Development Associates (MEDA) presents the 20 Under 35 Awards to recognize young professionals under 35 who exemplify MEDA values – faith, service and an entrepreneurial spirit, and who desire to make a difference in the world.

Ontario Credit Union Charitable Foundation (OCUCF)

Corporate Award for Outstanding Charitable Achievement


  • Recognizing growth of Stewardship in Action program, 2013
  • Outstanding Community Contributions,  2001

The Ontario Credit Union Charitable Foundation presents the Corporate Award annually to an Ontario credit union or company within the co-operative financial system in recognition of their community contribution considered to be above normal expectations.

Sustainable Waterloo Region

Corporate Award


  • Most Active Member, 2012

Sustainable Waterloo Region’s annual awards program for members celebrates and recognizes the actions and achievements in advancing the sustainability of Waterloo Region by local organizations and leaders.

World Council of Credit Unions

World Council Young Credit Union People Program (WYCUP) Scholarship


  • Benjamin Janzen, 2013
  • Shawn Good, 2007 
  • John Klassen, 2002

World Council of Credit Unions (WOCCU) offers an annual scholarship and event designed to promote and engage the next generation of credit union leaders in the international credit union movement. The scholarship is awarded to five outstanding nominees who are 35 or younger, have made significant contributions to their credit union system and have the potential to make a global credit union impact.  


Online Banking

Toggle the login portlet up and down to login.